I’ve finally had the chance to taste test some tea made from local shrubbery. I had collected leaves from Salmonberry bushes(Rubus spectabilis) that I could find far enough from main roads to make me comfortable. They took about two days to dry, spread out on a cookie sheet in my kitchen. 

  

I crushed the leaves by hand and measured a teaspoon into my tea strainer. I let my water come to a boil and let it sit for about a minute. The leaves were tender before I dried them being the first Spring shoots; I figure that hot but not still boiling water would work well.

 

I let the herbs steep, covered, for about 10-15 minutes. I tried it after two minutes and the flavour wasn’t even noticeable. After more time it tasted much like a mild green tea. I think this would work well added to other ingredients, not so much on its own. 

