I do apologize for the long delay. For a explanation please go here.

Shortly after the dried apple experiment I tried an old recipe with a new twist. Many years ago when I was diagnosed with IBS, one of the recipes I came across was oven dried bananas (or banana chips). When done this way they are AMAZING. Nothing like the deep fried greasy bits you find in stores. All I really did differently was dipping them in the water/lemon juice mixture and dried them for longer at a lower temperature. They were crunchy yet chewy when I first tried them. I tried them again about a week ago and they seem to have dried out a bit more and are quite difficult to chew on. I’m not sure if this is because my bananas were a little too green and therefore did not have a high enough sugar content, or if I just simply dried them too long. My tip for you is to dry them for 3-6 hours and see if they are at the consistency you want. If you prefer them softer like I do then store them in the fridge in a air tight container. If you like the super crunchy ones dry for 6-9 hours and store them in an air tight container in the cupboard.

Oven Dried Bananas

6 slightly green tipped bananas
1 L of water
2 TB lemon juice
2 Drying Racks (I use cake cooling wires)

1. Preheat oven to your lowest setting. Mine gets down to about 130 degrees F.
2. Mix lemon juice and water.
3. Peel bananas and break or cut in half. Using your thumb press into the middle of the flat end of the banana, it will split into three wedges quite easily. Put these wedges into the lemon water. Do this with all the bananas.
4. Place onto drying racks and place onto the oven rack.
5. Close door, propping open with a wooden spoon to help keep the temperature low. Let dry for 3-9 hours, depending on how dry you want them.
6. Let cool and enjoy!

