Flat Bread

I adore flat bread in pretty much all it’s forms. This version is a combination of techniques I picked up over my years as a professional cook, baker, and pastry cook. I dry “fry” these one at a time on my cast iron skillet, medium low setting(number three in my stove), after pressing them into flat circles with my hand and a plate. A tortilla press would work great since this bread is a mix between roti and tortillas. After frying I brushed them with coconut oil, keeping in a zip lock bag until I’m ready to eat the rest of them; I ate about four or five during the whole process.

Simple Flat Bread

1 cup white flour
1 cup Masa* flour
A few good pinches of sea salt
Boiling water

Combine the flours and salt, add enough boiling water to make a stiff dough. When cool enough to stick your hands in break the dough into balls slightly bigger then golf balls. Preheat your frying pan or skillet, you can coat with some oil or leave dry. Fry each side until golden, brush with oil to keep soft.

*Masa flour is made from corn processed with lime, generally used to make tortillas. I love the flavour and like to mix the grains I use for flour. Use whatever combination or single flour you like

    

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑